Frugal Friday Tips

I bet most of us are in the same boat moneywise,  especially after christmas.
And that boat is the Skint Boat.   I know I definitely am!

So I have decided to make some Frugal posts, to share with you.  These hints and tips are what I do to try and stretch the old dough a little further.  And please if you have any tips you would like to share, don’t hesitate to send them in.

The first Frugal Friday post is about Roast chicken.
Yes, yes, I know.  How can a roast chicken be frugal, well here goes…..

Have you heard about the 1 chicken, 3 dinners rule?
I LOVE it!  It’s one of the best money saving tips food wise, that I have come across.

image

Basically, you get yourself a whole chicken anduse it 3 times.
And how might you do that?  Dead easy.
You have your Sunday chicken roast, once you have finished, completely strip the meat that is left and use it for the next meal.
Then take the carcass and boil it up with some herbs, veg, whatever takes your fancy.
And Bobs your uncle,  you’ve got yourself 3 dinners!
Tell me thats not amazing!?

1.  Roast chicken dinner
2.  Leftover chicken curry
3.  Chicken noodle soup

I think its fantastic, and the most I have had out of it is 4 dinners.
I just make, say, chicken curry or chicken pie, with the stripped mest and freeze it for another day.
Sameneith the stock,  just tub it up and freeze.

If you have tried this, how many dinners have you had out the chicken?
What do you make with your leftovers?

Be sure to let us know 😉

X

Leave a Reply

