Hairy Dieters Spanish Chicken Bake

I have literally just polished off my dinner. And had to write this post as it was amazing!

You will have seen from my Meal Plan Monday yesterday, that this weeks food is all about the Hairy Dieters.
I love their cookbook, and thought why not dedicate the week to them.
What makes it better, you will tell by the title of the cookbook it’s all low fat. Makes me a happy slimmer.

20130422-195332.jpg

This chicken bake was so good, I wished I’d made more, so I could have had a sneaky second bowl.

As always, with most of my meals, I have adjusted the recipe to my taste/what I have in the cupboards.

Here’s what I used:
(Serves 2)

2 chicken breasts
3 tomatoes quartered
4 garlic cloves
1 red onion quartered
1 orange pepper cut into strips
10 slices of pepperoni
Handful of baby new potatoes halved
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper

I used my Pampered chef square stoneware baker. I use this a lot as its fab for keeping the meat nice and moist.
Preheat oven to 200c/gas 6.

In your oven dish place the onions, potatoes, garlic and tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper, toss it together lightly and put in oven for 20 mins.

Once 20 mins are up, scatter the pepperoni over the veg and turn it over a few times. Place chicken breasts on top (I halved the breasts, so had 4 pieces) then sprinkle the oregano and cayenne pepper over the pieces of chicken. Place back in the oven for another 20 mins.

Again, once 20 mins up, take the dish out of the oven. Hold one corner up to get the juices and spoon them over the chicken pieces.
Place your pepper strips around the chicken and place back in the oven for a further 20 mins.

Once served, the garlic cloves with be really soft and you squeeze these out over the chicken.

20130422-201615.jpg

Enjoy

X

2 comments

Leave a Reply

