Hairy Dieters Golden Veg Soup

I treated myself to the Hairy Dieters cookbook while at the Good Food Show Glasgow this year.
I love the hairy bikers and am currently trying to lose weight for my wedding in 2014, so this book is perfect for me.

I am aiming to cook through the book blogging as I go.
First from the book is the golden vegetable soup.

It consists of a few basic ingredients – carrots, onions, butternut squash, parsnips, garlic, chicken stock.
I made adjustments on the recipe to coincide with my Slimming World eating plan.
I swapped the olive oil for frylight.
I also didn’t have parsnips so just left them out.

20121105-164000.jpg

Firstly I had to chop up the onions, carrots and butternut squash.
I used my Pampered chef peeler and crinkle cutter to do this.
The peeler was fantastic for peeling the squash and I was fairly impressed as my old one wouldn’t even take a chunk out!

20121105-164143.jpg

The crinkle cutter done its fantastic normal job by cutting clean through the squash and the carrots as if they were butter. Made my job ten times easier and quicker.

20121105-164255.jpg

Once I had chopped all my veg, it was time to sauté the onions and garlic with the fry light until the onions were soft an had a slight colouring to them.
The squash and carrots were stirred in and then the stock added in.

20121105-164419.jpg

I left the soup to simmer for 30 minutes, doing my usual housework chores as I went. (A mummy’s job is never done!)
The oven beeped at me and it was time to blend.

20121105-164535.jpg

20121105-164547.jpg

Ta da! Soup is done.
It’s perfect for a cold and Wintery day.
I like my soup thick and it wasn’t too thick which was perfect.
The monsters loved this soup, as did we, and I will definitely be making it again.

20121105-164830.jpg

Thanks Dave and Si!

Go visit The Hairy Bikers for more information on the duo.
Tell them who sent you.

3 comments

      1. Thanks, I did enjoy it. You missed out on leaving the parsnips out, they added a lovely sweet note to it. Have to pack it in containers now to take to my mother!

Leave a Reply

