Ochil Fudge

20121103-083641.jpg

I first heard of Ochil Fudge through the wonders of Twitter. And had seen they had won a BBC Good Food Show bursary.
I go to the Good food Show every year and think its a great scheme they have with the bursary award.

I don’t have a huge sweet tooth, but do love a little bit now and again (doesn’t everyone?)
So was looking forward to seeing them there.

20121103-083735.jpg

And what a delight!
The amount if variations of fudge were astonishing. I couldn’t believe how many flavours they had.
I didn’t know how I was going to decide what kind to buy.

20121105-120329.jpg

The girl serving was at hand to answer any questions I had, as well as to let me try some of the fudges on offer.
I don’t know what I would have done without her to be honest, she was a fantastic help!
After (a lot) of deliberation I had finally decided on the flavours I would be taking home.
I chose Scottish Macaroon bar (one of my favourites), coconut cream fudge (server recommended this to me) raspberry and white chocolate, and Irn Bru. Yes Irn Bru fudge!

20121105-120612.jpg

The first in my taste test was the macaroon bar.
I love these and could not wait to dig in. And it was no disappointment! It was creamy and rich with the right amount of chocolate and toasted coconut.
This bar was not getting shared amongst the clan!

20121105-120748.jpg

I then moved onto the raspberry and white chocolate.
As I said I don’t have a huge sweet tooth, and I wasn’t too keen on this fudge bar. For me, personally it was to sweet and I couldn’t manage more than the small square I had cut.
On another note the Mr really liked this one and said it reminded him of vimto!

20121105-120939.jpg

Onto the coconut cream.
This was fabulous. Full of coconut flavour and lovely and creamy.
I’m so glad I was recommended this to try.
And it went down well with the monsters and Dougal the dog.

20121105-121108.jpg

Last to taste was the Irn Bru fudge.
And I know what you are thinking, as I thought the same, Irn Bru in a fudge!
But you know what? Ochil Fudge pantry have pulled it off.
It tasted and smelled just like the popular Scottish soft drink.
I couldn’t eat the full bar, as the Mr was dying to try some and my sweet tooth gave out after a few squares.
My sister, who stays down south would love this! I think this could be on her Christmas present list!

20121105-121351.jpg

Pop along to Ochil Fudge Pantry and give them a try.
Don’t forgot to tell them who sent you 🙂

This review is my own personal opinion

Leave a Reply

