Italian Meatballs

What to do with mince?? Something different I thought to myself.
It hit me, meatballs. Not made them for a while and the minis love them.

20121101-222200.jpg

20121101-222212.jpg

Firstly I chopped my onion, fresh from the Little Veg Company, with my manual food chopper.
I love my food chopper, just stick in a couple of onion quarters, press the lever a few times and you have chopped onions :).

20121101-222416.jpg

I put these in my classic batter bowl along with diced tomatoes, diced red pepper, crushed garlic, grated smoked cheese, oregano and seasoning.
Gave it a good stir. And shaped into balls.
If it was just myself and M having the meatballs I would have added in chilli for a bit of heat.

20121101-222546.jpg

Once shaped, these were popped into my square baker and into the oven for around 20-25 minutes.
While they were in the oven I made my homemade tomato sauce.
This had mushrooms, peppers, chopped tomatoes, passata, garlic, mixed herbs and seasoning.
Once simmered for 20 minutes, I blitzed with my hand blender.

20121101-223129.jpg

I took them out of my square baker, gave it a clean with hot water. Popped the meatballs in and covered with homemade tomato sauce.

20121101-222804.jpg

I served the meatballs with spaghetti and a side salad (and a cheeky glass of wine for myself)
And they were delicious, even if I do say so myself 🙂

I made this recipe up as I went along, which is something I do a lot!
It is Slimming World friendly, and free as long as you count the cheese as your healthy extra A.
If not you you will have to syn it.

Leave a Reply

