Monster High Cake

Another first for me in the cake kitchen last week – a monster high cake.
This was for a little girls birthday party at the weekend. And was arranged by her mums friend as a surprise.
I think that’s fantastic!

I started off mixing my Hummingbird vanilla cake recipe (one of my favourites)
I use my kenwood chef for practically all the cakes that I make.
I simply could not live without it.

20121018-183511.jpg

I had to double the mix volume as I would be using 2 x 10″ cake tins and sandwiching them together.
They were sandwiched together with homemade buttercream and strawberry jam. And then dirty iced and left to set in the fridge.
Vanilla cake with buttercream and jam is my bestseller.

20121020-174814.jpg

The next day I got some black fondant from my local craft shop, Paperlace, in dalkeith.
I normally colour fondant myself but the last time I attempted to colour some black, more got on me than anything else!
I covered the whole cake and smoothed it out.

20121020-175005.jpg

Now to focus on the skull.
This was the challenging part. I didn’t quite know how I was going to make that so I focused on rolling the fondant balls for the edging of the cake, while I figured out the skull detail.
And oh what a job that was! I put on some Olly Murs and that soon helped time to go by!

20121020-175340.jpg

I had my idea for the skull. And that was to print off a picture, cut it out and place it on fondant and draw round.
It was a tad fiddly but I would do that again. Unless I get a printer for edible pictures. So if anyone wishes me to test one out. I’m more than willing πŸ˜‰

20121020-175613.jpg
I mixed up pink and black royal icing to colour in the bow part.

I placed this on the top of the cake. For an extra touch I added some pink edible glitter to give it a sparkle.
I got out my Wilton nozzles and piping bag and used butter cream to write the birthday girls name on the cake.

20121020-175823.jpg

The final step was to stick on fondant diamonds on the side and then the fondant balls.
And cake done πŸ™‚

20121020-175931.jpg
I have myself a good pat on the back with the final cake. I’m really happy with it especially that it was my first Monster High cake.

The best part, as always, was a text to tell me the birthday girl loved her cake πŸ™‚
Fantastic!

If you’re looking for a cake for any occasion get in touch πŸ™‚

Go to Hummingbird bakery for more info and recipes from the fabulous bakery.

Paperlace is my local craft shop and is fantastic. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Check them out on Facebook. Search for Paperlace

Leave a Reply

