Spider Man Cake

One of my favourite past times is baking.
I love all aspects of baking from sourcing the ingredients to mixing them together (and licking the bowl!) to the end product.
And the only thing that tops this is making someone else happy with my baking.

I was asked a few weeks ago to make a little mans spider man cake. I hadn’t done one before and was more than happy to make it.
As it was my first spider man cake I thought I would make his face.

I used the Hummingbird vanilla cake recipe (I use their recipes 9 times out of 10) and cooked to rectangle cakes using my pampered chef rectangle tin.

20121017-114558.jpg

Once my sheet cakes had cooled fully, I spread strawberry jam and homemade buttercream and sandwiched the two together and got to work shaping the cake.
This was simple enough. I took little by little off until it was just right.
I then spread buttercream all over the cake and put in the fridge to set.

20121017-114822.jpg

When the cake had a sufficient amount of time to set (I like to give it a good 12 hours) I put another light layer of buttercream over then covered the cake in fondant.

20121017-114929.jpg

The next challenge was to do the eyes then decide on how to do the black web lines.
The eyes were quite easy, a little bit fiddly trying to get them both the same size and shape, but I got there!
For the black web lines, after watching a couple of tutorials on YouTube, I decided to paint them on with SugarFlair colour paste.
This was easy, I just needed a steady hand and the monsters out of the way. Which granny gladly helped by taking them for a few hours.
After 30 mins I was done.

20121017-115218.jpg

The best part of making this cake?
When I delivered it the big smile I received once handed over.
It made my day.

I love baking!

Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days baking book is fantastic. The recipes are fabulous and the chocolate cake recipe is sublime.

Leave a Reply

